Wednesday, October 11, 2006

Bismarck, ND - North Dakota Securities Commissioner Karen Tyler has been elected President-elect of the North American Securities Administrators Association (NASAA). Organized in 1919, NASAA is the oldest international organization devoted to investor protection. Headquartered in Washington, DC, NASAA's membership consists of 67 state, provincial, and territorial securities administrators in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands, Canada, and Mexico. In the United States, NASAA is the voice of the 50 state securities regulatory agencies responsible for protecting 100 million Main Street investors. Tyler will serve a one year term as President-elect, followed by a one year term as the organization's President. Previously, Tyler served as a member of the NASAA Board of Directors and as the Chair of the NASAA Investor Education Section Committee.

Governor John Hoeven appointed Tyler as the North Dakota Securities Commissioner in July of 2001. Commissioner Tyler heads the North Dakota Securities Department, providing oversight to the Department's divisions of enforcement, registration, corporation finance, and financial education.